Governor Gretchen Whitmer Cruises to Re-Election; Historic Night for Democrats Across the State

MICHIGAN — Below are updates from tonight’s election results. As a reminder, election officials have warned that votes may take longer than normal to count as mail-in ballots surge.

Update 2:16am

Governor Gretchen Whitmer has secured a second term as Michigan governor, easily defeating Tudor Dixon. The race centered on Whitmer’s handling of the pandemic, her fight to ensure abortion rights and her economic performance as a job creator. Whitmer is the first Democrat to win re-election with a Democratic President in the White House since 1950.

Proposal 22-2 which enshrines the right to vote in the Michigan Constitution passed as well.

Update 1:02am

Jenn Hill (D-Marquette) is expected to win the 109th State House District, winning in a rural area that Republicans invested in heavily.

Update 12:30am

Gongwer has called YES on Proposal 22-3 will pass enshrining abortion rights in the Michigan Constitution.

Update 11:49pm

Fox News calls the Michigan Governor’s race for incumbent Governor Gretchen Whitmer heading off a spirited campaign by a Betsy DeVos-backed election denier.

Update 11:11pm

Secretary of State Jocelyn Benson wins a second term beating Trump-backed election denier.

Update 11:08pm

Whitmer, Nessel and all three Proposals lead, Shri Thanedar wins first Congressional seat.

Update 10:29pm

Congressional Incumbents, Rashida Tlaib, Debbie Dingell, Lisa McClain, Tim Walberg, Haley Stevens, John Moolnaar and Jack Bergman have won re-election.

Update 10:14pm

Proposal 1 which would alter term-limits and require financial disclosure from elected officials has passed according to MIRS News.

Supreme Court Justice Richard Bernstein has won a second term on the Supreme Court, ensuring Democratic-nominated candidates will retain the majority on the state’s highest court.



Get in Touch

Related Articles

Latest Posts